Thread: Map of Paragrousi and the surrounding area

Wip Map of Paragrousi and the surrounding area

Hello Cartographer's Guild! First proper post here, and thought to post my WIP map of the city of Paragrousi and the surrounding area. This region is part of my worldbuilding project, Tharr, which most of my maps depict. Paragrousi in particular is the capital of 'Borntar' in the Middle Ages, and I have been inspired by Troy in terms of its downfall, and Venice in terms of its location. I have experimented with a much more 'minimalist' style and I'm trying avoid it looking too busy, but also avoid making it too sparse. It's a fine line that I'm not too good at dealing with. (while the map currently doesn't have a scale, I imagine it would be a pretty small area, with the city of Paragrousi spanning about 3 miles east to west)

If any of you have the time, I would love it if you could critique the map or ask any questions related to it. I also am not entirely sure if it does look too sparse, and if so I'd greatly appreciate it if any of you could give any advice Thank you for looking and hope you're having a good day

Paragrousi.png

Administrator Facebook Connected Diamond's Avatar

Welcome to the Guild, Rubikia! I guess my initial impression is that yes, it is too sparse on elements, but it really depends on what you're planning to do with it. If the purpose of the map is only to show locations in the immediate vicinity, you've succeeded. If you want a little more local color, you could add roads, maybe put in things like important mines, ruins, roadside shrines, fortresses, etc. One thing I'd definitely do is make the color of the sea darker. right now it's a little hard to tell land and sea apart.